New Gen Awards announces its 2021 judging panel

It is with enormous pleasure that we announce our judging panel, for the ninth annual 'New Generation Social & Digital Media Awards' 2021

In nine short years, the New Generation Awards have grown into the largest independent and most sought after digital award brands in South Africa.

Over the past nine years, we have seen a number of respected thought leaders from different sectors of the economy joining our panel, each one adding immense value and expertise across a broad spectrum of categories that New Gen offers to its entrants.

This year sees nine new faces joining the team, and we say welcome back to judges that have been with us for multiple years. We value your insights and hard work during the judging process, and are thrilled and honoured as a business to be associated with each of you.

Before you scroll down, we would also like to inform you that ENTRIES ARE OFFICIALLY OPEN for the 2021 awards!

In no particular order, here are the 2021 esteemed judges.

• Molefi Thulo - Executive Creative Director, Ogilvy South Africa
• Lebo Madiba - Founder, PR Powerhouse
• Genie Botha - Head of Digital Products, MakeReign Agency
• Uyanda Manana - Managing Director, Conversation LAB
• Mpume Ngobese - Managing Director, Joe Public Connect
• Lynne Krawchuk - Executive Head of Client Service & Commercial Director, Clockwork Media
• Mike Sharman - Entrepreneur and Founder, Retroviral
• Craig Miles - Creative Director, Hellosquare
• Tracey Jones - Founder and Managing Director, Positive Dialogue
• Zubeida Goolam - Co-Founder and Chief Creative Officer, Valiant Agency
• Shivani Naidoo - Portfolio Manager: Digital Media, Vodacom
• Luke Goller - Managing Partner, Arc Interactive
• Kieren Jacobsen, Communications Director, Levergy
• Danielle Morley - Chief Executive Officer, Digital Optimization
• Templar Wales – Director, DYDX Digital
• Tara Turkington – CEO, Flow Communications
• Jeff Siepman – Co-Founder and Creative Director, Livion Media
• Gillian Findlay – CEO, Cambial Communications and the awards Head Judge
• Astrid Ascar – Digital Strategy, Marketing and Content Creation consultant, Practitioner and Chief Growth Officer, Wunderman Thompson
• Prakash Patel - Senior Marketing and Executive Director, ForKeeps
• Darren Leishman - Co-Founder & CEO, Spitfire Inbound

For a more detailed look at this years judges visit

We also announce three new exciting categories to this year's awards:

1. The Best Online Magazine/Newspaper Award.

2. The Top UX/UI Designer Award.

3. The Best E-Commerce Website Award.

Entries will close at the end of June

The 2021 New Gen Hybrid Awards Ceremony will be held at the Ticketpro Dome, Hybrid Studios in September.

For more information on how to enter the awards please visit or email

20210121 1056590
Ticketpro Dome, Hybrid Studio